Kenya recently updated its online visitor registration service to streamline travel into the country. The Department of Immigration and Citizen Services has announced that citizens from Ethiopia and five other nations will no longer need to pay the $30 fee per traveler when using the Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) system.

This change, effective since February 15, extends to citizens of Comoros, Congo-Brazzaville, Eritrea, Mozambique, San Marino, and South Africa. These countries have either abolished visas or signed bilateral visa waiver agreements with Kenya.

The eTA system, launched in January, initially faced criticism for its $30 fee, which some perceived as a form of visa charge. The exemption for these six countries aligns with Kenya’s commitment to nations with established visa agreements.

While Kenyans can travel to Ethiopia with only a valid passport, Ethiopians were required to pay the $30 fee for an eTA, applied for at least 72 hours before arrival. This move has been well-received, with the Ethiopian Ambassador expressing gratitude for Kenya’s decision to eliminate the eTA electronic payment requirement.

Despite the fee waiver, Ethiopian citizens are still required to complete the eTA form online before traveling to Kenya. The adjustments are part of Kenya’s ongoing consultations with foreign partners to enhance the eTA system, address concerns and ensure effectiveness.

While the eTA application timeline remains at least 72 hours before arrival, issued eTAs are now valid for travel to Kenya within 90 days from the date of issue. East African Community member states are exempt from the eTA requirement.

Olawale Moses Oyewole
Olawale Moses Oyewole
Olawale Moses Oyewole is an adept writer who stays on top of current events and curate informative and engaging articles for his readers. He is a digital strategist who help brands gain online visibility.

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here